Friday, Day 13: Dear President Obama

DSC00590

Today I learned that journalists Bruce Kluger and David Tabatsky invited kids from all over America to write letters and/or draw pictures for President Obama.  I missed out on that project, but their efforts resulted in the book, Dear President Obama:  Letters of Hope from Children Across America.  (Learn more about this book here: http://obamakids.us/AboutBook.html ) I thought it would be interesting to see what the Smith-Maxwell children would write, if given the opportunity to address President Obama.  Here are their letters:


Dear Mr. President Obama,

I like your name, and I love you because you’re cute like a cutie-pie.  I hope you’ll be the president longer than 4 years.

I didn’t know that one of your daughters, Sasha, likes gymnastics.  I am a Level 4 gymnast.  I go to Hill’s Gymnastics.  My coaches are named Kevin and Oleg. There is a new coach but I do not remember her name yet.

If I could give you a present, I would give you a bow-tie.  It would look nice on your costume.

Your friend,
Topanga, age 6

Dear President Obama,

Please let kids rule America for a week. I don’t think you are doing a bad job. I just think kids need to know how it feels to be President for a week.  You could probably make some rooms for us in several of your bedrooms.

If I was President for a week, I would make a new television channel for kids and only kids ages 7 through 13 .  It would show educational series–one about World History and one about “How to Survive During Elementary and Middle School” so you know what to do to get a good reputation. I would also design a video game company to educate kids about real places in the world, like Vilacamba. It would also educate kids about the puzzles and riddles of the world, like the “Riddle of the Sphinx”.

Sincerely,

Connor Alexander Smith-Maxwell, age 9

Dear President Obama:

You’re a really good president.  I’m so happy that you’re the 44th President of the United States of America.  I am happy that I am a citizen.  I used to live in Ukraine before I was adopted when I was 2.5 years old.  Ukraine also says I am one of their citizens.  My home is here in Gaithersburg, Maryland.  I am so happy that you live nearby.

I am a Level 7 gymnast at Hill’s Gymnastics.  In April, I tied for first-place in the All-Around Level 6  Maryland Jr. Olympic state meet in my age division.  I wonder if you were at my meet?  You could bring your daughters to my private lesson at my gym. Maybe they would have fun.

Can you send back a letter to me if you read this?  That would make me feel special.

Your friend,

Lachlan (but my friends call me Bella), age 11

Dear Mr. President Obama,

I know that you like basketball, but do you like soccer, too?  I play soccer.  I want to tell you some of my tricks that I have done.  This year I was running down the field trying to get past defense, when one of them tripped me.  Then I went back and got the ball from one of the defenders and dribbled to the goalie and almost made a goal!  Have you ever done something like that?  Did you steal the basketball from one of the defenders in basketball?  I bet you did.

Sincerely,
River, age 8 1/2

3 responses to “Friday, Day 13: Dear President Obama

  1. Dear Topanga, Connor, Lachlan and River,

    Where were you when we were putting together our book?!? Your letters to President Obama are absolutely WONDERFUL, and I promise you, if you’d submitted them when we were collecting letters and drawings for our book, we would have INSTANTLY included them.

    I think it’s just great that you took the time and effort to write these terrific letters, and I like them so much, I’ve posted a link to this page of the SmithMaxwellFamilyBlog on the ObamaKids web site (go here: http://www.obamakids.us/NewsReviews.html). (If it wasn’t okay to do this, please let me know and I’ll take the link down).

    Congratulations again on your wonderful letters, and three cheers (or, make that FOUR cheers) to your parents for raising such great (and great looking!) kids.

    Sincerely,
    Bruce Kluger
    Co-author, “Dear President Obama: Letters of Hope from Children Across America”
    bruce@obamakids.us

    P.S. “You’re cute like a cutie-pie” absolutely SLAYS me!!!!

  2. P.P.S. Lachlan — I should have called you Bella — sorry!
    P.P.P.S. I’m not sure the link I gave you in my last posting worked. Try it again here: http://www.obamakids.us/NewsReviews.html

  3. hey guys,
    great letters!
    you rule.
    oh wait, obama rules.
    at least for now – you WILL rule (in a few years).
    best,
    david tabatsky

Leave a Reply

